Dinner time and my book review!

 

Ahhhhh March goes out with a blustery day and here we are with lovely April! Enjoy the month everyone, it promises to come to us for 30 days, so live life to your potential and dream on! Go for it!

Dinner was a curry made with Lamb and Barahat! My parents lived in Dubai for almost 25 years and I have been a curry food lover since I was a teen! This curry is a recipe from Bahrain and I recently had it in England while I was visiting my father.

Here’s the recipe!

  • 1-11/2lbs of  lean lamb cubed. ( left overs ok to use also)
  • 1 crushed garlic clove
  • 1 large chopped onion
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of  Baharat spice mix
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes (liquid included)
  • 2 cinnamon sticks
  • 1 cup of basmati rice

 

 

 

1 cup of water

1/2 cup of fresh cilantro 

 

 

Baharat, Arabic for “spice”, is a popular spice blend found in Arab cuisine.  Ingredients can vary, but it typically includes black pepper, paprika, cumin, coriander, cinnamon, cloves, cardamom and nutmeg.  An intensely flavorful spice blend, Baharat can liven up any dish.  It is commonly used as a rub for lamb, chicken, beef and fish and can be combined with olive oil and lemon juice for a delicious marinade.  It is also used in soups and sauces.

  1. In a large, wide pan, dry-fry the minced lamb with garlic and onion until lightly browned, about 3 minutes.
  2. Stir in the Baharat spice mix and cook for 1 minute. Add the can of tomatoes,  cinnamon sticks and simmer covered for twenty minutes. 
  3.  Season with salt and pepper add cilantro and add water, rice and simmer for another twenty minutes covered.

Remove cinnamon sticks and serve.  Serve with a cold beer and warm nann bread.

My book review: 

I am a very open minded individual and embrace life excepting of all its foibles and intricacies and this book touched on a few. Historically in many countries which were considered as the most cultured and civilized, the families particularly the Royals stuck together and kept close. It took me a while to get my head around this book. I can say that I took a guess at what would be the outcome to the conundrum with regards to Elizabeth’s relatives was going to turn out to be and I was happy to be correct.

The story is told from Elizabeth’s perspective. It seems to me that had I, myself, been told the same revealing tale that Elizabeth was told by Lady Catherine, I certainly would have turned off all thoughts of marriage particularly to Darcy. Alas, as the story progressed the mysterious and life changing events for Elizabeth  and Darcy surpassed my expectations and kept me reading right through to the end. I started this book yesterday morning and finished it at dinner time! It was that engrossing!

To quote a fellow blogger, ” Lady Catherine de Bourgh is definitely pissed off not to marry her daughter to her nephew, but let’s face it, that’s probably a good thing for the gene pool and it puts her daughter into play for so many adaptations.” (From What’s Not in Jane Austen by Jennifer Petkus, March 31, 2015 Jennifer) However in this adaptation Lady Catherine takes her nastiness to the next level. 

This book will keep you engrossed and it is worth a read. The dialogue is very good and it is well paced. I had no issues with the story changing to the third person and back to Elizabeth’s telling. It seemed to flow quite well through the transitions. 

I give it 📗📗📗📗out of five. 

Leave a comment